Book Review: The Fault in our Stars by John Green

fault-in-our-stars-cover

First of all, let me say that I read this whole book in one day. I literally could barely put it down. Being a busy mom, I had to obviously take care of my kids and do house work, but after every task, I picked the book back up and just kept reading. The pace is perfect and keeps you drawn in the whole time. Though this book was probably primarily geared toward teens, it was still meaningful and relevant to me as a mom in her late twenties. My mother was actually the one who recommended the book to me and we later saw the movie together.

The book is relatively short in comparison to other current YA novels, but there is no feeling of something being missing from the story. There is also not “white space” included to add length to the story without adding depth and meaning. I find the length of the book appropriate in the fact that one of the themes of the book is the “little infinity” or the full lifetime experienced within a short amount of chronological time.

I have read many books that have made me laugh and cry, but never before one that made me do both at the exact same time. It is amazing to me how Green is able to give the reader a sense of hope and hopelessness at the same time. You cheer the young lovers on while at the same time feel a sense of futility. From the beginning, you know fully well that the heroine has terminal cancer and is at some point going to die from it, but at the same time, she and her friends are so snarky about it that you can’t help but find it all somewhat hilarious. Those who have not read this book yet might take offense at the previous statement, but those of you who have read it know exactly what I mean.

As funny as this may sound, I was very impressed with Green’s ability to capture the inner-workings of the mind of a teenaged girl. I was brought back to being a young girl with a crush over and over again. He captures the internal battle between logic and sweet puppy love perfectly. You are also able to see as the relationship grows and develops from a crush to a deep, loving relationship. The experience is absolutely beautiful.

As a nurse who specializes in the care of cancer and hospice patients, this book also spoke to me as to reconfirm my career choice. Death and the dying process are among the most horrible things to witness. And let me say, it never really gets easier, you just get better at dealing with it. When the person dying is young, it is all the harder. With that said, it is also something that is worth being a part of. It is during that time that you see what someone is truly made of. Sometimes people and families come apart at the seams, but sometimes they find strength that they never knew they had. They are able to understand what is truly important in life and overlook the rest. They make everyday count and live and love like there is no tomorrow because there may not be. It is truly a privilege to witness and be a part of.

Overall, I would recommend the book to anyone 12 and up who is able to handle dealing with death and some dark themes. Those themes are not overwhelming, but they are there, so the reader must be prepared to deal with them. The book takes you through the emotional wringer, but it is wonderful to experience. This book was truly one of the best books I have ever read.

Leave a comment